Pictured from left to right:  American Legion Department Commander Kenny Wiederholt, 2020-2021  Oratorical Winners: 1st Place Jacob Schulz, Fargo, 2nd Place, Ellie Schmitz, Watford City, 3rd Place David Crain, Williston, 4th Place Jack Manstrom, Wyndmere and  Department Oratorical Contest Chairman Jerry Samuelson

2021-2022 Oratorical District/Region/State Contest Schedule

2021-2022 Department High School Oratorical Scholarship Program Rules

2021-2022 Oratorical Poster

National Oratorical Website

2020-2021 National Official High School Oratorical Scholarship Program Rules

Oratorical Poster District Map

Oratorical Video

2021-2022 State, Region and District Oratorical Contest Winners

State Oratorical Winners

1st Place -

2nd Place -

3rd Place -

4th Place -


Eastern Division

1st Place -
2nd Place -

Western Division

1st Place - Eva Rykowsky, Mandan, ND
2nd Place - Bailee Pierce, Scranton, ND


District 1 Oratorical Champion
No Contestants

District 2 Oratorical Champions
No Contestants

District 3 Oratorical Champions
1st Place - McKenna Wilke, Cando, ND
2nd Place - Katelyn Duchscher, Rugby, ND

District 4 Oratorical Champions
No Contestants

District 5 Oratorical Champions
1st Place - Eva Rykowsky, Mandan, ND
2nd Place - Nicholas Meyers, Bismarck, ND
3rd Place - William Bianco, Bismarck, ND

District 6 Oratorical Champions
No Contestants

District 7 Oratorical Champions
1st Place - Samantha Ellison, Lemmon, SD
Sponsored by New Leipzig Post #211
2nd Place - Peighton Wait, New Salem, ND
Sponsored by Almont Post #261
3rd Place -Kathryn Dziuk, Glen Ullin, ND

District 8 Oratorical Champions
1st Place - Bailee Pierce, Scranton, ND
2nd Place - Irish Morris, Scranton
Sponsored by Dickinson Post #3

District 9 Oratorical Champions
1st Place - David Crain, Williston, ND

District 10 Oratorical Champion
1st Place - Ella Weinmann, Wahpeton, ND
Sponsored by Galchutt Post #282

District 1 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Dave Rice

District 2 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Quinnlyn Thompson

District 3 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Dan Stave

District 4 Oratorical Contest

District 5 Oratorical Contest
C0-Chairman Vern Fetch and Karen Meier

District 6 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Heather Thompson

District 7 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Orletta Kilen

District 8 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Kris Fehr

District 9 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Mike Weyrauch

District 10 Oratorical Contest
Chairman Gerald Puetz